Dear Edgar Allen Poe …

New York

9352 Post Street

3 March 1845

Dear Edgar Allen Poe,

I have read your writings and found them fascinating. Each sentence and page entertained me and was exciting. I hope and pray that your writing will bring you much success in the future. I know that your mom died and your dad left the family, and you probably do not remember much of them because you were young; but I still pray that you would be encouraged in the Lord because that is where our true joy comes from. I am sorry for you that you had to leave the university because of debt. But I am glad you continued with your writing.  I can without hesitance say that “The Raven is by far my favorite that you have published. “The Raven” is captivating. The way that you use rhyme drives the poem.  The constant use of “nevermore” causes me to feel sorry for the narrator.

You definitely have experienced loss in your life.  I can detect loss in your writing. Thank you for sharing your talent with the world. I do not know if you are a Christian or not, but I have still prayed for you because I think even in your success that you are spiritually lost.

Obviously, from your published book and short stories you tend to go to the darker themes. The loss of your dear wife probably caused the darker writing. I want to encourage you with this letter. Your talent and imagination in writing is amazing. God obviously has a special plan with you if you do according to His will. There is a verse in the Bible that I know, but I am not sure that you know; but it is John 3:16, which says, “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” That means that the Lord loves the whole world and everyone in it. For God the Father sent his Son to be killed by the world so that the people of the world would not have to suffer the same punishment. We can have joy today because we know that the Lord loves us.

Your gift for writing mystery intrigues many readers. But the greatest mystery of all is why a loving God would pursue us and give us His grace and mercy.  I hope you will consider my thoughts about God and salvation.  He can heal your broken heart from the many losses you have experienced in this life.

Yours truly,

John Doe

One thought on “Dear Edgar Allen Poe …

Leave a Reply

